The Clock Strikes TwelveThe Clock Strikes Twelve
by H.R. Wakefield

Dust jacket by Ronald Clyne

Limited Edition Hardcover - $35.00

Arkham House, 1946; 248 pp.; limited to 4000 copies. First edition, first printing.

The Clock Strikes Twelve is a collection of stories by author H. Russell Wakefield. It was released in 1946 and was the first collection of the author's stories to be published by Arkham House.

Book is solid and clean; black binding cloth is clean and bright; upper corners are very lightly bumped; bottom of spine is lightly bumped; gilt lettering on spine is clean and bright.

Dust jacket front is clean, bright, and unblemished; flaps are clean and bright with original price ($3.00) unclipped; top and bottom edges are slightly age darkened; minor wear at top and bottom edges of spine and along flap folds.

Overall, this is a near fine copy of the book in a near fine dust jacket.

"Why I Write Ghost Stories"
"Into Outer Darkness"
"The Alley"
"Jay Walkers"
"Ingredient X"
"“I Recognised the Voice”"
"Farewell Performance"
"Not Quite Cricket"
"In Collaboration"
"A Stitch in Time"
"Lucky's Grove"
"Red Feathers"
"Happy Ending?"
"The First Sheaf"
"A Fishing Story"
"Used Car"
"Death of a Poacher"
"Knock! Knock! Who's There?"

We offer secure credit card shopping through PayPal.