Mr. George and Other Odd PersonsMr. George and Other Odd Persons
by Stephen Grendon

Dust jacket by Richard Taylor

Limited Edition Hardcover - $100.00

Arkham House, 1963; 239 pp.; limited to 2500 copies. First Edition.

Mr. George and Other Odd Persons is a collection of fantasy and horror short stories by American author August Derleth written under the pseudonym of Stephen Grendon. Most of the stories had appeared previously in the magazine Weird Tales. Two appeared in The Arkham Sampler. The title story was dramatized for the Thriller TV series.

Book is solid and clean, without bumping; black binding cloth is clean and shiny, with some fingerprints and smudges on the front and back; corners are sharp; gilt lettering on spine is bright; pages are clean and bright.

Dust jacket front is clean, bright, and unblemished; flaps are clean and bright with original price ($4.00) unclipped; very light age yellowing on top of flaps and on spine; rear cover is clean and bright.

Overall, this is a near fine copy of the book in a fine dust jacket.

"Introduction" by August Derleth
"Mr. George"
"Parrington's Pool"
"A Gentleman From Prague"
"The Man on B-17"
"Blessed Are the Meek"
"The Blue Spectacles"
"Dead Man's Shoes"
"The Tsantsa in the Parlor"
"The Extra Passenger"
"The Wind in the Lilacs"
"Miss Eperson"
"The Night Train to Lost Valley"
"Bishop's Gambit"
"Mrs. Manifold"

We offer secure credit card shopping through PayPal.