The Purcell PapersThe Purcell Papers
by J. Sheridan LeFanu

Dust jacket by Frank Utpatel

Limited Edition Hardcover - $15.00

Arkham House, 1975; 241 pp.; limited to 4,288 copies. First Edition.

The Purcell Papers is a collection of stories by author J. Sheridan LeFanu. It was the author's second collection published by Arkham House. The book does not include all of the stories in the 1880 book, The Purcell Papers. In addition to the stories by LeFanu, the collection includes a pastiche of LeFanu, "The Churchyard Yew", written by August Derleth and using LeFanu's name as a pseudonym.

Book is solid and clean; black binding cloth is clean and shiny; boards are unbumped and corners sharp; gilt lettering on spine is bright; pages are clean and bright. Some very light fingerprinting on boards.

Dust jacket front is clean, bright, unblemished and unchipped; flaps are clean and bright with original price ($7.00) unclipped; rear cover is clean and bright.

Overall, this is a fine copy of the book in a fine dust jacket.

"Introduction", by August Derleth
The Purcell Papers
I. "The Ghost and the Bone-Setter"
II. "The Fortunes of Sir Robert Ardagh"
III. "The Drunkard's Dream"
IV. "The Quare Gander"
"The Child That Went With the Fairies"
"The White Cat of Drumgunniol"
Ghost Stories of Chapelizod
I. "The Village Bully"
II. "The Spectre Lovers"
"Stories of Lough Guir"
"A Night in the Bell Inn"
"The Dead Sexton"
"The Legend of Dunblane"
"The Mysterious Lodger"
"The Churchyard Yew"

We offer secure credit card shopping through PayPal.